top of page

Our People

The Leonardo da Vinci Society is managed by a Committee, who are also the Trustees of the charity.

The Committee and Officers are elected annually at the Society's Annual General Meeting, according to the Constitution.


President: Alexander Marr

Alexander Marr is Professor of Renaissance and Early Modern Art at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of Trinity Hall.

Treasurer and Secretary: Mari Williams

After a night career in research in the history of astronomy followed by years in research management, Dr Mari Williams now volunteers at the UK Science Museum and Archives helping to catalogue its Trade Literature collection.

Vice-President: Richard Oosterhoff

Dr Richard Oosterhoff is Senior Lecturer in History at the University of Edinburgh, where he specializes in Renaissance intellectual history and history of science.

Communications: Matthew Landrus

Dr Matthew Landrus teaches in the History Faculty of the University of Oxford and is a Supernumary Fellow of Wolfson College. He is an expert on Leonardo da Vinci's life and work.


Dr Fabrizio Bigotti

Director, Centre for the Study of Medicine and the Body in the Renaissance

Dr Juliana Barone

Fellow, Warburg Institute

Dr Martin Clayton

Head of Prints and Drawings, Royal Collection Trust

Prof. Frank James

Professor of History of Science, UCL

Tony Mann

Director, Greenwich Maths Centre, University of Greenwich

Dr Francesca Borgo

Lecturer in Art History, University of St Andrews; Research Group Leader, Bibliotheca Hertziana

Dr Lucia Tantardini

Affiliated Lecturer, Department of History of Art, University of Cambridge

Dr Maya Corry

Lecturer in History of Art, Oxford Brookes University

Prof. Francis Ames-Lewis

Professor Emeritus of History of Art, Birkbeck College

Prof. Richard Talbot

Director, Institute for Creative Arts, Newcastle University

bottom of page